Seaver’s Nissan Skyline R32

15511220845_c32e92fb35_k

I finally got to sit behind the wheel of my all time favourite, childhood dream car. A friend of mine, Seaver Brown, offered to let me test-drive his 1992 Nissan Skyline and I jumped at the chance. Since the days of The Fast and The Furious, the Skyline has been the one vehicle I’d wanted more than anything else.

“I really just wanted something unique, fast and fun and it’s what was in my price range.”

15324644547_88f21f0ca7_k

Seaver had to go through an interesting buying process in order to finally get his hands on this car. Before buying the car he took it for a test drive like any normal person would. Once the car was warmed up it would hesitate and wouldn’t go past 3000 rpm. Seaver told the owner that he would buy it if the problem got fixed and so the owner promised and the next day Seaver went back for another test drive. The car ran fine and so he went ahead and bought it, only to find out half way home that the issue hadn’t been fixed at all. He called up the previous owner and called him out only for him to tell him “that’s what you get for buying a used car.”

After working out the problem the car has been running well for just over two years now. Seaver has big plans for this pristine platform in the years to come. With a brand new motor swap in the works, an upgraded turbo, forged internals and a new tune he’ll hopefully be able to make 350 horsepower.

15511252335_9621cdb6f6_k

The mod list for this car is extensive, from replacing most of the engine gaskets to carbon fibre hood and trunk; there isn’t much on this car that hasn’t been touched. With a brand new paint job and a nice, wide set of wheels it’s a flashy car for sure.

Sitting behind the wheel, I have to say right off the start; the clutch in this car is very difficult to figure out. Not only that but this was the first time I’d ever driven a right hand drive car and was pretty nervous at first. After getting out of the parking lot the shifting felt so natural with my left hand. The switch from left to right doesn’t feel awkward at all. The transmission is chunky but what can you expect from a 22-year-old car. Seaver warned me that it’s currently under boosting but putting out 210 horsepower on 8 lbs. of boost still sinks you back into your seat pretty well.

15324505590_9c2611ea57_k

I can’t wait to see what next year brings for this amazing car. Thank you again to Seaver Brown for letting me live my childhood dream by finally getting the chance to drive this beauty. Hopefully I’ll be able to do a follow-up when the new engine gets broken in.

Leave a comment